KRAUTKOSH23 - UPDATE #14

A Flying Fortress

KRAUTKOSH23 - UPDATE #14 A Flying Fortress

Hey,

Chris here from Military Aviation History with the fourteenth update from the trip to Oshkosh 2023 you crowdfunded. This is a special one: strap in, raise the throttle and RPM, and let’s go.

Filming a B-17 for “Inside the Cockpit” - a dream come true!

Yes, it was the B-17. I know the clues were a bit obvious but it was all I could do safe give the name. Thanks to CAF Airbase Arizona, we were able to film a fantastically maintained flying B-17G. Known as “Sentimental Journey”, she is currently in Seattle offering passenger flights and since today was her off-day, I jumped at the chance and got filming! I don’t think I need to put into words what it was like to film a machine of such history.

Today was great filming day - I just wish cockpits were not greenhouses.

What may even be better than an “Inside the Cockpit” on the B-17 is that it may end up as two videos. With so much detail all around the aircraft, it is likely that I will have to split the “outside” and “inside” half of the episode into two parts. Plenty of content for you to enjoy - the lighting today was fantastic, the internal details sublime and “Sentimental Journey” showed herself in all her splendour! This is an episode (or rather two episodes) you can not miss.

It is in moments like this that I once again must thank you for making this project a reality! Without your support, this would not be possible.

Chris