KRAUTKOSH23 - UPDATE #4

Warbird Heaven

KRAUTKOSH23 - UPDATE #4 Warbird Heaven

Hey,

Chris here from Military Aviation History with the fourth update from the trip to Oshkosh 2023 you crowdfunded. After an afternoon arrival on Sunday, today was the first full day at Oshkosh 2023. What an adventure this is! Let’s get into it

First up, I hit up the warbird area. Now I saw my share of vintage fighters but boy, I was not prepared to see +10 P-51 in immaculate condition lined up like on parade, with a couple of P-40 and a few F4U Corsairs on top of that. And that is me not even getting started on all the other birds, the P-47, the T-28s, the MiG-17s and more. Much of this time was spend talking to owners to both film and schedule filming - with a few things already done.

Cockpit of a P-40K from Fagen’s Fighters

I also chatted with a lot of volunteers and restoration organisations that worked on getting vintage aircraft back in the air. Having filmed some of it, y’all are in for a treat when the videos drop.

Now regarding the videos, my initial plan was to edit these on the road. A naive assumption in the end, right now I have my hands full - it has only been one day and I still need to go through much of the footage, coordinate with owners and prepare for some additional shoots. All of that is good news, but it does mean that the videos will come out a bit more spaced out than I planned.

Don’t let the grumpy face fool you. That’s just the kind of face a German makes when he is having the time of his life.

Tomorrow is an early start with some scheduled shoots, so I will clock out now and catch you then!

Thank you for making this project a reality!

Chris