KRAUTKOSH23 - UPDATE #5

Scorching Afterburner

KRAUTKOSH23 - UPDATE #5 Scorching Afterburner

Hey,

Chris here from Military Aviation History with the fifth update from the trip to Oshkosh 2023 you crowdfunded. I missed yesterday - for reasons explained below - but I am back with double the good news!

Also, if you are a new backer, make sure to scroll down all the way to the end for more information on gaining access to existing and future exclusive content.

So what happened that I had to skip yesterday’s update? Truth be told, I had a long day getting filming done and because of short-term changes, had to another early start today. Thus, I decided to hit the bed as early as possible (which was late) and skip the update for a day.

Yesterday, the early rise was interrupted by a thunderstorm. Thus, my hopes to push through with all the morning shoots I had set up were washed away. That led to a busy (and humid after the rain - it’s +30C out here) afternoon, as I moved the schedule and got as much done as I could. As luck will have it, I met and was introduced to more people and plane owners that agreed for filming in different formats. Soon, an initially ‘light’ Thursday was about to turn into a long and intense day!

A P-47: Not yet filmed but … soon ?

Today, Thursday July 27, I fulfilled a dream of mine by filming a complete Inside the Cockpit of a SBD Dauntless. Coming to us courtesy of CAF Georgia, the SBD-5 I filmed is a remarkable machine and I can not wait to get that out to you!

SBD-5: Slow But Deadly. Just as the Kido Butai

Beyond that, I filmed on two B-25s. One, “Devil Dog”, is operated by an enthusiastic crew who have the ol’ Mitchel Bomber converted as a strafer PBJ with eight .50cals in the nose. The second, “Miss Mitchell”, is perhaps one of the - if not THE - most authentically restored flying aircraft of World war 2 I have ever seen. Operated by a friendly and passionate crew who work of nothing more than volunteering and donations, no corners were cut to make “Miss Mitchell” look as if we are back in 1943-44. Although one of my most challenging shoots - it got to +40C (roughly 100F?) in the turrets and nose - this one is a must watch!

By now, Oshkosh alone has yielded six Inside The Cockpits and multiple other videos and content for all of you. This number is only growing! Keep an eye on your inbox as the first videos get released in the coming weeks.

Have a great day y’all and thank you for making this project a reality!

Chris

For new backers, you should have received a separate invite to the Shipshape platform to log in and check on updates (+videos there). If not, please also check your spam. The link to the platform is:

As mentioned in a previous post, the main bulk of exclusive content will now come after Oshkosh!