KRAUTKOSH23 - UPDATE #7

The Return of Legends

KRAUTKOSH23 - UPDATE #7 The Return of Legends

Hey,

Chris here from Military Aviation History with the seventh update from the trip to Oshkosh 2023 you crowdfunded. Today marked the last day for me at AirVenture - time for a few preliminary concluding thoughts!

‘Quick Silver’ (P-51D) is stunning - and the NAA logo rounds it off. I think I am in love :)

First off all, I am blown away by Oshkosh - it truly is an aviation paradise. People are friendly, interested to talk about every and all aircraft, and it is fantastic seeing so many different birds on display. If you have been before, I am sure you will agree. If you haven’t been yet, I highly recommend that you go. It is exceptional.

The J2F-6 Duck - the most floatplaniest flying boat there is

For filming, I have so much that I have my work cut out for me - a good problem to have. Next to walkarounds and interviews with pilots, many of which were impromptu, there are the ‘regular’ Inside the Cockpit videos that were planned for this trip. You can look forward to a smorrebrod of content including Inside the Cockpits on:

  • P-51D ‘Twilight Tear’

  • P-40K ‘Aleutian Tiger’

  • P-47D ‘Bonnie’

  • B-25/PBJ-1 ‘Devil Dog’

  • B-25J ‘Miss Mitchell’

  • SBD-5 Dauntless

  • P-38J (walkaround only)

  • Mosquito B.35 (walkaround only)

Don’t let the name fool you, 'Bucket of Bolts’ (C-45) is as reliable as they come.

Big thank you to the owners/ operators of the aircraft, including Fagen Fighters, the Commemorative Air Force, Aircorps Aviation and EAA for the access and of course all of you for making this project a reality! And here is the kicker, I am not done yet - I will film even more in the US in the coming days!

Chris